CETFA announces new leadership and board members for 2024-25

CETFA introduces new leaders and Board members, focusing on growth and innovation in the ETF industry

CETFA announces new leadership and board members for 2024-25

The Canadian ETF Association (CETFA) has announced significant updates to its leadership with a new chair for its Board of directors, a retained secretary and treasurer, and the appointment of a 2023 Board member as its new vice chair.

Following the Annual General Meeting on June 19, the CETFA executive for 2024-25 consists of Ron Landry (CIBC Mellon) as chair, Prerna Mathews (Mackenzie Investments) as vice chair, Shalomi Abraham (Invesco Canada) as secretary, and David Roode (TD Asset Management Inc.) as treasurer.

Ronald C. Landry, vice president and head of Asset Manager and ETF Solutions at CIBC Mellon, expressed his gratitude, “I am honoured to be elected as Chair of CETFA's Board. The ETF industry in Canada continues to grow and evolve, offering investors innovative and cost-effective investment solutions. I look forward to working with CETFA's members and stakeholders to further our mission of education, advocacy, and industry development.” 

CETFA also welcomed new Board members Andres Rincon (TD Securities), Alex Perel (Scotiabank), and Stephen Hoffman (RBC Global Asset Management). 

The association expressed appreciation to the outgoing chair, Michael Cooke, for his leadership and thanked departing Board members for their contributions to the association's growth and development. 

The Committee Chairs for this year include Jonathan McGuire (Marketing & PR), David Swain (Policy), Melody Chiu (Tax), and Michael Taylor (Operations).

CETFA has also formed a committee to search for a replacement for its longtime executive director, Pat Dunwoody, who left her role this spring with the association’s best wishes.