CRA opens centres to improve tax help for Northern Territories

Three new centres have been opened to assist communities in the north

CRA opens centres to improve tax help for Northern Territories

The Canada revenue Agency now has three new service centres in the Northern Territories.

The Northern Service Centres (NSCs) in Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqaluit will provide better access to tax services for Indigenous peoples and businesses.

“We know that individuals and businesses in Canada’s Territories face unique circumstances,” said the Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue. “The CRA is committed to addressing the barriers faced by individuals and small businesses when it comes to filing their tax returns. Today we respond to these concerns by opening a Northern Service Centre in each Territorial capital.”

The three centres will be open year-round, with in-person presence throughout the Territories to provide tax support to individuals and businesses in their own communities.

There will also be dedicated phone lines to connect people with CRA employees with specific knowledge of northern tax issues.

“I’m pleased to know that many of our communities in the North, especially those in remote locations, will benefit from more support when it comes to getting answers to tax-related questions and getting access to benefits. These Northern Service Centres, and the work their employees will be doing across the Territories, will increase access to tax help for both our residents and our businesses," said Michael McLeod, Member of Parliament for Northwest Territories.