OSC announces new members of its Seniors Expert Advisory Committee

The Ontario Securities Comission has announced the 15 new members of its Seniors Expert Advisory Committee

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) recently announced the members of its new Seniors Expert Advisory Committee (SEAC) for 2016-2017. These fifteen appointed experts are tasked to advise OSC staff on securities-related policy and operational developments that impact older investors. SEAC will also provide input on the OSC’s related educational and outreach activities.

SEAC will meet approximately four to six times annually, and members will serve one-year terms. The governing body will be chaired by Tyler Fleming, director of the investor office.

“The Seniors Expert Advisory Committee will give the OSC access to a multidisciplinary team of experts on issues related to older investors, providing us with valuable input on our seniors strategy, an important initiative for the OSC,” stated Maureen Jensen, chair and chief executive officer of the OSC. “The committee builds on our ongoing efforts to better understand the unique needs of older investors.”

In its recent report, the Annual Summary Report for Dealers, Advisers and Investment Fund Managers, the OSC aired concerns about the quality of advice being offered to seniors and other vulnerable investors.  

The following individuals have been appointed to the SEAC:
  • Ellen Bessner
  • Jan Dymond
  • Arthur Fish
  • Patricia Fleischmann
  • Alan Goldhar
  • Dr. Amanda Grenier
  • Neil Gross
  • Marta C. Hajek
  • Patricia Kloepfer
  • Wanda Morris
  • Lindsay Rogan
  • Bonnie Rose
  • Greg Shaw
  • Dr. Samir Sinha
  • Laura Tamblyn Watts
These experts are all leaders in their fields and come from diverse backgrounds, including the legal community, law enforcement, academia, medicine, and seniors’ advocacy.

Related Stories:
OSC report airs concerns over advice to seniors, other regulatory red flags