Canada’s top guns announced

Canada’s top guns announced

Canada’s top guns announced Brendan Wood released its 2014 Top Gun awards last week – and there’s a few familiar names among the winners.

WPs been on a mission to identify some of the greatest Canadian investors of all time. Perhaps some of the names on Brendan Wood’s 2014 Top Gun list will eventually make it on to ours.

An annual recognition, Brendan Wood salutes Canada’s best investors as voted on by two hundred and sixty sell-side professionals. Considered Top Guns by their sell-side peers, RBC Global Asset Management and Connor Clark & Lunn were the big winners scooping up eight of the top ten positions.

Stuart Kedwell was voted Top Gun Investment Mind of the Year. According to Brendan Wood, the veteran RBC GAM portfolio manager received “… substantial recognition from the sell-side of the street. Kedwell’s personable nature and forward-thinking investment style were highlighted as exceptional traits by both sides of the street… Self-evident perhaps is Kedwell’s leadership by example.”

In a new wrinkle, Brendan Wood got the Society of Top Guns (those investment managers being selected as Top Guns in four consecutive years) to vote on who they thought were Canada’s best. Kedwell made this list as well in seventh place. That’s definitely good news for the new co-CEOs appointed this week by RBC GAM.

WPs own Jeff Sanford reported on the Morningstar awards in late November. Mawer Investment Management took home a lot of the hardware that night. They didn’t do too badly in the Top Guns with Martin Ferguson getting the second-most votes from his buy-side peers.

In the team voting, Mawer and RBC GAM held sway. Interestingly, CI Investments received more votes from their buy-side peers than both of the big winners, taking home the Top Gun Investment Brand award.

With a ton of talented people in the financial services industry, WP can wait to hand out its inaugural Wealth Professional Awards June 5 at the Liberty Grand. Nomination process open until April 15, 2015.

Click here to make a nomination.