Outstanding financial planners earn FPSC recognition

Outstanding financial planners earn FPSC recognition

Outstanding financial planners earn FPSC recognition At the recently held Celebration of the Financial Planning Profession Dinner, the Financial Planning Standards Council (FPSC) presented a number of prestigious awards to some outstanding CFP professionals.

The Donald J. Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award in Financial Planning, the FPSC’s highest honour, was given to John De Goey. A portfolio manager at Industrial Alliance Securities (IAS), author of The Professional Financial Advisor, and contributor to various media outlets, De Goey has promoted the importance of the CFP mark among consumers, government representatives, and the financial services community for two decades.  

“Receiving the Donald J. Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award in Financial Planning is a huge honour and source of pride for me,” he said.

As this year’s awardee, De Goey has selected two charitable organizations, the Daily Bread Food Bank and Community Living Essex County, to receive a $10,000 donation from the FPSC in his name.

Meanwhile, the FPSC named Dawn Hawley, CFP, as the only Fellow of FPSC honouree for 2017. The lifelong distinction is bestowed on individuals who have helped advance the FPSC’s purpose and advance CFP professional standards, as well as embodied these standards throughout their careers.

A 35-year financial-planning veteran, Hawley is currently with the Angus Watt Advisory Group – National Bank Financial in Edmonton. She has engaged in various professional and volunteer activities to push for rigorous industry standards. From 2015 to 2017, she served as chair of the FPSC board of directors, of which she was a member for eight years. She was also part of the FPSC’s Professional Practice Working Group, a key contributor in developing the Financial Planning Body of Knowledge for FPSC Level 1 Certificants in Financial Planning and CFP professionals.

Finally, the FPSC also recognized members of the President’s List, which consists of top performers in the CFP examination. The honourees for the June 2017 exam were Sara Ready from Toronto, Ontario (first place); Christopher Krmpotic from Waterloo, Ontario (second-place tie); and Tim Schilds from Dawson Creek, BC (second-place tie). As for the November 2016 exam, the honourees were Kouros Ghanavizchian from Vancouver, BC (first place); Kyle Snowden from Grimsby, Ontario (second place); and Muizz Saleh from Mississauga, Ontario (third place).

Related stories:
FPSC to educate planners on technology
FPSC announces new board composition

More market talk: